Lone Star Report Recent Blog Posts

Nov 16

Written by: Andy Hogue
11/16/2010 5:12 PM  RssIcon

Ten, count 'em, 10, candidates are in the running to replace the late Rep. Ed Kuempel (R-Seguin) in a special election.

Kuempel died two days following the general election, following a bout of heart complications. Gov. Rick Perry announced Dec. 14 (a Tuesday) as the date of the special election for HD 44 (Guadalupe, Gonzales, and Wilson counties), and the filing deadline was 5 p.m. Monday.

They are, according to the Texas Secretary of State's office:

• Daniel Rodriguez Andrade (D), 45, of Seguin, a real estate business owner.

• Ron Avery (R), 63, of Seguin, an architect.

• Chris Burchell (R), 46, of Adkins, a law enforcement officer.

• Jim Fish (R), 53, of Cibolo, an entrepreneur.

• Tony Gergely (L), 51, of Seguin, a chemist who owns a laboratory which produces chemicals for commercial fishermen.

• Gary W. Inmon (R), 43, of Schertz, a private practice attorney and president-elect of the Texas Association of School Boards.

• John Kuempel (R), 40, of Seguin, a salesman and son of Rep. Kuempel.

• Myrna McLeroy (R), 72, of Gonzales, an oil and gas landman, a former State Republican Executive Committeewoman.

• Cheryl Dees Patterson (D), 44, of Seguin, a real estate agent.

• Robin R. Walker (R), 58, of Seguin, a self-employed business manager who challenged Rep. Kuempel in the GOP primary, drawing 25 percent.

Early voting is scheduled from Nov. 29-Dec. 10. Candidates from all parties will appear on the same ballot. If no candidate receives a majority, a runoff will follow about a month later.

Wednesday, January 18, 2017    Register    Login
Copyright 2011, The Lone Star Foundation
3345 Bee Cave Road, Suite 203 | Austin TX 78746 | (512) 339-9771
Home   |   About   |   Studies Archive   |   Contact   |   Links